Do I have a novel in me?

I decided to jump into the deep end and signed up for NaNoWriMo, and I’m a bit freaked out!

Between real life job, big responsibilities at the lodge, my part-time bookstore, spending the first weekend of November at my fiance’s house for our monthly visit, can I REALLY write 50,000 words?

Honestly? I kind of doubt it, but I’m going to try.

Now, I’m not trying to be self-effacing, nor am I fishing for compliments (though feel free to toss me some if you want), but I realize that I might not be ready to “win” and I’m ok with that. Up to this point, I’ve limited myself to short stories in the 3000 – 6000 word range, can I do 10x that?

Now for some of your cynical types (you know who you are), you might be saying “He’s giving up before it even starts”. Instead, I’m looking at it as training, not everyone who signs up for a marathon makes it to the end, but in at least trying, they know what to expect next time, where their weakness may lay, and give them the determination to sign up for another one.

I’m treating NaNoWriMo like that, while I might stumble and skin my knee, I’m going to get up and try again.

5 thoughts on “Do I have a novel in me?

  1. This is the best of NaNoWriMo: the impossibility and the discipline it gives you. Be sure to check in your inbox for all the peptalks and inspiration. There’s something about the community of writers all over the world writing their bottoms off that gives November an inky sort of shine.Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good luck, Peter. I’ve never done nanowrimo, but if this is your first big push at writing a novel-length story and you’re going to try and churn the words out, my advice is that you don’t care about quality but instead push for quantity. I’ve written my first novel and it took me far longer than it should have. In retrospect, I should have thrashed the bones of it from start to finish, then gone back to the beginning to flesh it out, then gone back to the beginning again to fine-tune it and tighten the quality of prose, etc. In a nutshell, just write the first draft crap all the way through. The biggest battle of a novel is completing the first draft.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

